Train journey home

Hope you all had a good and merry Christmas. (Whether you celebrated it or not)

Once the show had finished, we made our way to the train station to go home. We found out there were delays on the train that everyone at the station wanted. (Including us.) Ben was hungry (he always is) so we went to the shop in the station. We both bought our own snacks and I have to say I was beginning to feel really sleepy. It had gone midnight and I knew it was going to be a long night. I wouldn’t be getting home until 2am – call me old. But the waiting around makes its more tiring.

Anyway, once the announcement was made that the train arrived; all the people including Ben and myself, made our way to the platform. We made a dash to (if you want to call it that) find seats on the train. Ben then realised that he didn’t have a ride home, as the train station we were going to was at least 40mins away. So I offered to drive him home; I know it was out of my way and that he was a grown man but that’s the kind of person I am. I now sound like a book character. Being the I am, I felt responsible ensuring that he got home ok. That’s what friends do, don’t they?

The train was crowded and we made friends with people that were standing in the middle of the isle. The one family we chatted to, had come from watching a musical. I can’t remember which one they had seen, but I am pretty sure it was Charlie and the chocolate factory. Both Ben and I chatted with them until they got off at their stop. When they left, the seats behind us also had been vacated. Another couple sat down, who also had been to the theatre. I can’t remember what they had been to see. Again we discussed general things.

Our long train journey came to a stop. We made our way to my car, discussing song lyrics. I remember telling Ben that I was currently into country music and how some of their lyrics really made sense to me. And that my song of the moment was ‘Strip it down’ by country singer Luke Bryan. Ben told me his favourite line – but I have to be honest, I can’t remember what they are. It’s not that I don’t listen, I do, but remember it was coming up to 1am in the morning.

In the car, Ben directed me to his house, discussing things in general.

Leave a Reply

