Panto…Meet the Parents

Lyrics courtesy of Justin Timberlake – Can’t Stop the Feeling

I got this feeling inside my bones
It goes electric, wavey when I turn it on
All through my city, all through my home
We’re flying up, no ceiling, when we in our zone
I got that sunshine in my pocket
Got that good soul in my feet
I feel that hot blood in my body when it drops
I can’t take my eyes up off it, moving so phenomenally
Room on lock, the way we rock it, so don’t stop
And under the lights when everything goes
Nowhere to hide when I’m getting you close
When we move, well, you already know
So just imagine, just imagine, just imagine
If you had seen the Panto – Dick Whittington at a well-known establishment in Buckinghamshire than you will understand the meaning behind the chosen song lyrics.
I had got us tickets. When I use the term ‘us’, I mean for Ben and myself. They were to go and see the Panto (a tradition around Christmas time) Dick Whittington. Our performance wasn’t until the evening and I was as usual picking Ben up. I actually don’t know how I end up doing most of the driving.
The day arrived and I was making my way to Ben’s, when he rang to say his parents were coming to the Panto too. He asked if that was ok. What did he want me to say? Don’t get me wrong – if I was the girlfriend, I could understand; I would be a little freaked out. But as I wasn’t, I was ok. A little nervous. I mean who wouldn’t be? Yeah I’ve met my friends parents but this was different. No matter what people say.
Anyway, I went to his house and as usual he wasn’t ready. I’ve been friends with Ben long enough and nothing now surprises me about him. I’m quite used to waiting for him. And they usually say its girls who take forever. In this friendship or whatever it is, Ben definitely takes longer than me. By the time we left we were a little tight on time and it had nothing to do with me.
We made it in time to the theatre and headed up to meet his parents.
His mum came straight over to us and me being me gave her a hug. Ben made the introductions and we started chatting. To be honest, his mum was quite easy to talk to. She had previously seen me and waved but not had a conversation. She explained her husband was running late and that he had always been like that. I laughed at that and said that Ben was exactly the same. I don’t know if Ben felt uncomfortable but I sure didn’t. Ironic as Ben could chat to anyone and make conversation. Eventually his dad arrived and introductions were made once again and I spoke to both Ben’s parents. If I was truthfully honest I didn’t know what to make of the situation and I don’t think Ben or his parents did either.
The show was starting soon and made our way to our seats.
When the show finished, we all headed to find somewhere to eat. I am not sure what Ben told his parents but they decided they were going to get some food and head home; and told us to enjoy ourselves. Ben and I headed to Frankie and Benny’s for a late dinner.
If I was confused before, I certainly was now. More than ever. Where were we going? What was I to him? Don’t get me wrong, I can and do say and am vocal when it comes to what I want. But at the same time, I do cherish the friendship we have and don’t want to lose that. On the other hand he has to realise that I won’t always be there…
Leave a Reply

