Beauty and the Beast

Evermore From Beauty and the Beast 2017

I was the one who had it all
I was the master of my fate
I never needed anybody in my life
I learned the truth too late
I’ll never shake away the pain
I close my eyes but he’s still there
I let him steal into my melancholy heart
It’s more than I can bear

Well, I changed the her and she to him and he; so that it fits with the blog. It’s actually one of my favourite songs from the film.

This time, Ben text me asking if I was free in the evening and I explained that I had my nephew that evening. But as soon as someone came home I could meet him. We looked at the film times and saw that there was Beauty and the Beast playing at 9pm. Ben text saying that was good for him. I said I’d meet him at his at about 8.30; which worked for him.

I remember changing into jeans and a top (nothing fancy – why would it be?). So that I was ready for when someone came home. It wasn’t long before they did. I grabbed something to eat before I left as I didn’t fancy eating so late and movie snacks didn’t really appeal. Don’t get me wrong, I like popcorn, nachos and all the rest of it but I just didn’t fancy it. (Not a big fan of food anyway)

I was looking forward to watching Beauty and the Beast. I am a huge fan of musicals and Disney. Who isn’t? There was a time when it wasn’t cool to like Disney as a kid or as an adult. Having grown up with Disney, who wouldn’t be a fan? May be if you were seen to be cool; you would never admit to being a fan. As I’ve said before; I have no interest in what people think I should be like. I am what I am. I like what I like regardless if my friends or family don’t like it. It’s who I am.

I got to Ben’s at about 8.30 and surprise, surprise the boy was ready. He’s really not a boy anymore considering he was turning 31 this year. Sorry Ben. We drove into town and parked in the cinema car park. Well I drove. Ben does drive but very rarely and it’s only when I’ve made a fuss about driving. He then feels bad and offers to drive. I don’t mind but sometimes does the girl have to do all the hard work? In this case unfortunately; I would have to say YES. But we will address that another time.

We got our tickets and were surprised to find a nearly empty cinema. It wasn’t full by any means. Mind you it was a nine pm showing and there were no children. Not that both of us don’t like children; we do but working with them all day; you do want a break from it all. However, I was with the biggest kid I know. Ben. He still acts like a twelve-year-old. Finding our seats, we sat down to watch the trailers.

It was only when the film started did Ben let me know he didn’t know the story of Beauty and the Beast. I mean who doesn’t? He also proclaimed that he had never seen the animated version of the film either. I looked at him in disbelief. So I had the pleasure (not sure that it was) of explaining the whole film and believe me when I say – I did not enjoy the film at this point. In fact I was becoming rather irritated. And that is not normally like me. I am normally quite patient but I can tell you now Ben was on edge of being …. I’ll let you fill in the gap.

The movie ended and I was quite frazzled as I had to explain quite a lot and in the end I think that spoilt it for me. Don’t get me wrong. I liked the film but I didn’t get the chance to enjoy it. And I have to say it was all Ben’s fault.

That was the end of that outing. This entry happened on the Monday of the week. The next outing was on the Friday of the same week.

Leave a Reply

