Friday Night … Beauty and the Beast part 2

The questions that keep cropping up from people, whether they are friends, family or acquaintances – is how are you not taken? Why don’t you have a boyfriend? Unfortunately I can’t answer that question and still to this day, have no idea, why? I just seem to breeze through life with lots of friends. Friends that I am proud to have; people who enjoy my company; friends who have or don’t have the same tastes as me; want to experience new things. The list goes on. But eventually we all move on as do our friends. However, saying that I am still really good friends with the girls that I met on our first day at secondary school. So we don’t see each other everyday but when we do catch up it’s like we’ve never been away. Isn’t that what friendship is about?

Anyway moving on to the story of Ben. (Unfortunately, I am still no clearer as to what we are.) One thing I know that we are still friends. Friends with deeper and meaningful feelings for each other; without either or rather Ben not admitting what he feels.

What is it that everyone can see that he can’t? People wouldn’t comment otherwise. I don’t think they would. That would be weird. Too weird.

Friday night and somehow Ben and I ended up at the cinema. Before you say anything it wasn’t a date. As usual the people at the cinema greeted us like long-lost friends. I eventually conceded and got myself a cinema card as it was costing me an arm and leg. We’d somehow managed to miss Kong: Skull Island and the only other movie on at that time was…yes…you’ve guessed it – Beauty and the Beast.

Well…well…I hear you say.

For the first time that evening, Ben seemed quite happy with the film choice. Only him. He fancied sweets – this was nothing new. As we’d already had dinner; I was full. Even for sweets. Ben gave me his puppy dog eyes when I said I wasn’t getting anything. Because I said no, he stopped himself from getting any; because he said he’s putting on weight. If you saw Ben you would not say that is the case. The boy is very, very slim. If he worked out (he swims – that’s about it; or that’s what I know he does) I am sure he’d have a body to admire. Anyway, as I didn’t argue with him – he bought himself some sweets. The irony made of the situation made me laugh. Once upon a time it used to be the girls being careful about what they ate, now it’s everyone.

Eventually we made it into the screen and found our seats; where we watched the trailers. Funnily enough they were the same ones that we had watched earlier in the week. Ben was cold so he put the hood up of his jumper (hoodie). This time I watched the film and enjoyed it. Even if I did have Ben singing in my ear. The boy had started humming from the get go when Belle comes onto the screen. I have to say I am quite used to Ben breaking out into song. He does it with every chance he gets. That’s just him. You go and see a musical movie and well I can guarantee that he either knows the words or tunes and will hum  along. Most people would find it annoying but I guess because I’ve been to quite a few things with him; it’s quite normal. Well, not normal but I am sure you catch my meaning.

Ben’s constant need to hum or sing makes – him – him.

After the movie, we headed home. I have to say I definitely enjoyed the film the 2nd time around.

This time the lyrics come at the end from the Song – How does a moment last forever? Taken from the film Beauty and the Beast 2017

How does a moment last forever
How can a story never die
It is love we must hold onto
Never easy, but we try

Sometimes our happiness is captured
Somehow our time and place stand still
Love lives on inside our hearts
And always will

Minutes turn to hours
Days to years, then gone
But when all else has been forgotten
Still our song lives on

Maybe some moments weren’t so perfect
Maybe some memories not so sweet
But we have to know some bad times
For our lives are incomplete

Then when the shadows overtake us
Just when we feel all hope is gone
We’ll hear our song, and know once more
Our love lives on

How does a moment last forever
How does our happiness endure
Through the darkest of our troubles
Love is beauty, love is pure

Love pays no mind to desolation
It flows like a river through the soul
Protects, perceives and perseveres
And makes us whole

Minutes turn to hours
Days to years, then gone
But when all else has been forgotten
Still our song lives on

How does a moment last forever
When our song lives on…

I agree with the sentiments of the song. Until next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

